Skip to main content
Sign In
NHS Highland AreasPlanning, co-ordinating and delivery of services

The planning, co-ordinating and delivery of services across NHS Highland is managed through two Partnerships: Highland Health and Social Care Service and Argyll and Bute Community Health Partnership.

Highland Health and Social Care Service

Covering the same area as the Highland Council, the Partnership is made up of three operational units sub-divided into four areas, nine districts and Raigmore Hospital. The Partnership is responsible for providing a wide range of acute care, emergency care, primary care and community based health and social care services.

These services are provided to around 232,950 people across 25,656 sq km (during the summer months the number of people in the area increases significantly due to an influx of tourists). As of 30.06.13

Argyll and Bute Community Health Partnership (CHP)

Argyll & Bute CHP manages acute, primary, community health and mental health services across the region. Much of the acute and more specialist services are provided from neighbouring NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde. These services are purchased by the CHP through formal contracts.

The CHP has the same boundary as Argyll and Bute Council. The area is divided into three localities:

  • Oban, Lorn and the Isles (including Lorn and Islands Rural General Hospital in Oban)
  • Mid Argyll, Kintyre and Islay
  • Cowal, Bute, Helensburgh and Lomond

Argyll and Bute CHP also manage their own Corporate Services.

The CHP is managed by a Director of Operations supported by a local management team.